© Alan Aubry

Storage room at Le Havre Conservation Center. © Alan Aubry

The majority of the conservation work is carried out behind the scenes at the storage rooms in the Le Havre conservation center. This constant, inconspicuous activity contributes to developing the knowledge regarding the collections, while preserving the unique heritage for future generations.

Collections and Exhibitions Management

Management departments emerged in French institutions during the 1970s and grew throughout the 1980s. They particularly addressed the increased movement of works and the emergence of the concept of preventive conservation.

The objectives of the management department at French Lines are extremely varied as they involve both the collections and the exhibitions. The registrar mainly oversees the proper conservation and safety of collections, by supervising the packaging and dusting of objects that they are in charge of on a daily basis. Management equally plays a role in the maintenance and upkeep of storage rooms in order to ensure that works are kept in an environment that complies with preventive conservation principles.

Each year, French Lines organizes the presentation of hundreds of artworks, objects and archives to the public, both within its exhibitions as well as items on loan to various cultural institutions in France and abroad. As part of these loans and temporary exhibitions, the collections manager and the registrar both follow up on files (drafting contracts and loan records, borrower negotiations, organization of transport and insurance) and manage the preparation of works (conducting condition reports with photographic images, packaging and packing into crates, etc.). The collections and exhibitions department also provides active support and participates in the operations involving the set-up and dismantling of various exhibitions.

The registrar and the collections manager carry out certain internal transportation, particularly for arranging the delivery of works to restoration workshops. They also assume the role as couriers for shipping carried out by external companies, therefore ensuring the constant presence of French Lines staff during all shipping activities.

Collection Inventory

Sans titre 7

Marking Label
for Decorative Panel

The collections kept by French Lines are subject to systematic inclusion on an inventory register. Inventory work for new donations and acquisitions is continuously ensured by the management department, as well as for works and objects held by French Lines since its creation in 1995. The collection, estimated at about 32,000 pieces, is also subject to meticulous and constant inventory work that involves several key steps:

  • Assessment of the sanitary condition of the object to ensure there is no mold or contamination from bugs. Extensive restoration or treatments may be scheduled if necessary.
  • The object may be dusted using a microfiltered vacuum.
  • Accurate recording of the object’s size and weight. This essential information is useful when preparing exhibitions, organizing transportation and planning possible restorative work.
  • The inventory sheet for each object is entered in a database to facilitate the complete management of the collections. Each inventory sheet is supplemented with a fact sheet that includes a scientific description, documentation and monitoring during the object’s life cycle.
  • Marking each object: to preserve the integrity of the collections and to facilitate their identification, an unique inventory number is printed on each object, generally using India ink.
  • Photo campaign: a series of digital images is taken for each object as an accompanying illustration in the database and to document the condition of the collections.
  • Repackaging and storage: each object is carefully repackaged at the end of these operations before being placed on a shelf or inside a cabinet, box or a compartment within the storage rooms.

Preventive Conservation

Preventive conservation is at the center of the management department’s work as it aims to slow down the process of object deterioration and ensure the sustainability of the heritage property that French Lines is in charge of by addressing their immediate surroundings.

Constant attention is paid to monitoring the climate (monitoring humidity and temperature) and brightness within the storage rooms. Scientists also take special care when dusting objects kept in the storage rooms, as dust promotes the development of micro-organisms. Light traps are installed in the most sensitive conservation areas in order to combat bug infestation.

© Alan Aubry

Réserve du centre de conservation au Havre. © Alan Aubry

La majeure partie du travail de conservation des collections est réalisée dans les réserves du centre de conservation au Havre, à l’abri des regards. Peu visible, cette activité permanente contribue à enrichir la connaissance des collections tout en assurant la conservation, pour les générations futures, d’un patrimoine unique.

La régie des collections et des expositions

Les services de régie apparaissent dans les institutions françaises au cours des années 1970 et prennent leur essor dès les années 1980, notamment pour faire face à la multiplication des mouvements d’œuvres et à l’apparition de la notion de conservation préventive.

Au sein de French Lines, les missions de la régie sont extrêmement variées puisqu’elles portent aussi bien sur les collections que sur les expositions. Le régisseur veille principalement à la bonne conservation et à la sécurité des collections, en participant quotidiennement au conditionnement et au dépoussiérage des objets dont il a la charge. La régie joue également un rôle central dans la maintenance et l’entretien des réserves afin de garantir aux œuvres un environnement conforme aux principes de la conservation préventive.

Chaque année, French Lines organise la présentation au public de plusieurs centaines d’œuvres, d’objets et d’archives, tant au sein de ses expositions qu’au cours de prêts à différentes institutions culturelles, en France et à l’étranger. Dans le cadre de ces prêts et de ces expositions temporaires, le responsable des collections et le régisseur gèrent à la fois le suivi des dossiers (rédaction des contrats et des fiches de prêt, négociation avec les emprunteurs, organisation des transports et des assurances) et la préparation des œuvres (réalisation des constats d’état avec prises de vues photographiques, emballage et mise en caisse…). Le service des collections et des expositions garantit également une assistance et une participation active à toutes les opérations de montage et de démontage liées à l’organisation des différentes expositions.

Le régisseur et le responsable des collections réalisent certains transports en interne, notamment pour organiser la livraison des œuvres dans les ateliers de restauration. Ils participent également en tant que convoyeurs aux transports réalisés par des entreprises extérieures, assurant ainsi une présence permanente du personnel de French Lines pendant toutes les étapes d’un transport.

L’inventaire des collections

Sans titre 7

Étiquette de marquage
d’un panneau décoratif

Les collections conservées par French Lines font l’objet d’une inscription systématique sur un registre d’inventaire. Le travail d’inventaire est assuré continuellement par le service de régie sur les nouvelles acquisitions et les dons, mais également sur les œuvres et objets conservés par French Lines depuis sa création en 1995. La collection, estimée à près de 32 000 pièces, fait ainsi l’objet d’un méticuleux et permanent travail d’inventaire qui comprend plusieurs étapes essentielles :

  • Évaluation de l’état sanitaire de l’objet afin de s’assurer de l’absence de moisissure ou de contamination par des insectes. Le cas échéant, des restaurations ou traitements sanitaires approfondis peuvent être programmés.
  • Dépoussiérage éventuel de l’objet par micro-aspiration.
  • Relevé précis des dimensions et du poids de l’objet. Ces informations essentielles sont utiles lors de la préparation des expositions, pour l’organisation des transports et pour planifier d’éventuelles restaurations.
  • Saisie dans la base de données d’une fiche d’inventaire pour chaque objet, afin de faciliter la gestion complète des collections. Chaque fiche d’inventaire est doublée d’une fiche documentaire, permettant la description scientifique, la documentation et le suivi de la vie de l’objet.
  • Marquage de chaque objet : pour préserver l’intégrité des collections et faciliter leur identification, un numéro d’inventaire unique est inscrit sur chaque objet, généralement à l’encre de Chine.
  • Campagne photographique : une série de clichés numériques de chaque objet est réalisée afin d’illustrer la base de données et de documenter l’état des collections.
  • Reconditionnement et rangement : à l’issue de ces différentes opérations, chaque objet est rigoureusement reconditionné avant de trouver sa place sur une étagère, dans une armoire, une boîte ou un tiroir au sein des réserves.

La conservation préventive

La conservation préventive occupe une place centrale dans le travail de la régie puisqu’elle vise à ralentir le processus de dégradation des objets : il s’agit de garantir la pérennité des biens patrimoniaux dont French Lines a la charge, en intervenant sur leur environnement direct.

Une attention permanente est donc portée à la surveillance du climat (suivi de l’hygrométrie et de la température) et de la luminosité des réserves. Le personnel scientifique accorde également un soin particulier au dépoussiérage des objets conservés dans les réserves car la poussière favorise le développement de micro-organismes. Pour lutter contre l’apparition d’infestations d’insecte, des pièges lumineux sont installés dans les espaces de conservation les plus sensibles.