objets-et-œuvres-d-art-01

“Legends of the Seas” Exhibition (2013). © F. Beauclair

Contact


Dorian Dallongeville
Curator of Collections
Email : collections@frenchlines.com
Phone : +33(0)2 35 24 83 70

From furniture to posters, liturgical objects to technical instruments, including models, graphic art and silverware, French Lines has an exceptional heritage—due to its varied nature and the unique accounts regarding the development of the French Merchant Navy since the mid-nineteenth century. With an estimated collection of over 30,000 pieces, some one hundred works are classified as historical monuments.

The constant expansion of the collection, as well as its restoration and improvement, is an integral part of French Lines day-to-day objectives. This is carried out regularly through donations of works and objects, as well as acquisitions.

Posters

The greatest illustrators and poster designers used their talent to capture the power of the liners and the allure of voyages to faraway destinations since the late nineteenth century. The creativity of these artists was largely encouraged by requests from shipping companies anxious to increase their growing clientèle.

Given their ability to immediately evoke attention, advertisement posters were the main communication tool and the world of maritime poster images has greatly contributed to the legacy of French shipping lines. This communication method enticed people to travel more than any other. These “ads” were elevated to a work of art through the talent of well-known artists and painters in the Navy.

French Lines has a unique collection of over 600 original posters that still bring us on a voyage of discovery. We are transported across continents and back in time as we gaze at works signed by Cassandre, Albert Sebille, Sandy Hook or Albert Brenet.

Tableware

French Lines holds an exceptional collection dedicated to tableware, evoking a certain French art de vivre which is still renowned in palaces today and is proudly reflected in our hotel industry.

French liners were shrines to design, tableware and gastronomy for over a century. A symbol of national expertise to the art of hospitality and service excellence, passengers were catered for in luxurious dining rooms, such as the dining room on the Normandie, which was longer than the Hall of Mirrors in Versailles.

Companies sought to offer constantly renewed luxury on board liners, making them genuine floating palaces. This is evident from the collection of silverware, glassware, earthenware and porcelain, along with almost 9,000 printed menus that give us an insight into cruises and crossings, as well as breakfasts and gala dinners—over a century of gastronomy!

Silverware

Thousands of pieces of silverware, created by great silversmith houses such as Puiforcat, Christofle and Ercuis, decorated the tables of French liners. The service styles evolved according to artistic trends at the time and the decor chosen for each vessel. A distinctive feature of the company, the monogram or emblem adorning each piece is a prime example of the careful attention paid to elegant graphic design that contributed to the prestige of the company and its ships.

Pottery and glassware

Tableware had a special importance on board larger vessels, which were considered ambassadors of French service. What could be more appealing than a sumptuously set table laden with the most delicious national dishes? Fine porcelain and earthenware decorated with various monograms, emblems and logos from shipping companies, delicate and therefore often short-lived, came from the best French manufacturers (Haviland and Gérard Dufraisseix & Abbot in Limoges, Digoin Sarreguemines, etc.) and appeared alongside elegant glassware from houses such as Daum, Lalique and Saint-Louis.

Liturgical collection

French lines houses a significant collection of liturgical objects dated between 1930 and 1970 in its reserves. From chapel supply cases to lace vestments, including chasubles with vivid decor, the range of objects in the collection shows the important role that religious life played on board the liners. If the collections reflect the regular celebration of Catholic services on board the ships, some objects also highlight the Jewish religion, such as the incredible portable oratory designed after World War II for the Île-de-France liner from the Compagnie Générale Transatlantique.

Textile collection

Dining room waiters, bell boys, nurses, engineering officers, porters, sailors, etc. have all donned these work clothes. Each profession was distinguished by a uniform. Facings and stripes may have denoted different ranks, but all were equally proud to serve the companies that flew the French flag across the world’s seas. The items of clothing on display at Le Havre are a touching testament to the lives of seafarers on board.

French Lines also possesses a large number of textile items such as scarves, ties, national flags and mast tops, rugs, etc. The exceptional collection of tapestries that once decorated the France liner (1962) contain the famous signatures of Jean Picart Le Doux, Lucien Coutaud and Robert Wogensky.

Furniture

French Lines houses several hundred furniture pieces, from cast-iron swivel chairs from the late nineteenth/early twentieth century to the avant-garde furniture from the France liner (1962), or the famous Compagnie Générale Transatlantique red deck chairs. Pedestal tables, chairs, desks, beds, wardrobes and libraries are sometimes used for reconstructions. This is possible thanks to countless image records retained in our archives.

Decor from the France liner (1912)

A unique set of woodwork and ironwork from the 1912 France liner is carefully stored in the reserves at Le Havre—a true gem that represents early twentieth century decorative art. These exceptional pieces reflect the refinement and prestigious nature of the vessel known as the “Versailles of the Atlantic”.

Models

Models have always had a special meaning for people who have sailed across oceans or accompanied vessels from their construction until their demise. It’s also a splendid object that allows everyone, both big and small, passionate and curious, to linger over these floating legends and view them from all angles, while dreaming of long voyages on the seven seas aboard these giants of the ocean.

Whether crossing oceans by sail, paddle, coal or oil; cargo ships, liners and specialized vessels represent an important chapter in technical development and French industrial history.

French Lines houses the largest collection of Merchant Navy models from 1850 to 1996 in Le Havre, including the original model of the Normandie that was presented at the International Art and Technology Exhibition in 1937, or a series of one hundred miniatures of the entire French Line’s fleet that was requested by Maurice Basile to celebrate the company’s centenary. Whether they are a few centimeters long or over 5 meters like the exceptional model of Mariette Pacha liner from Messageries Maritimes, the models give you the opportunity to discover the history of the vessels belonging to the largest French shipping companies.

Medals and memorabilia

It is a Merchant Navy tradition to celebrate a significant event with a commemorative medal. Guests are given a medal to celebrate the launch of a ship as a souvenir of that day. A President’s memory is commemorated in the same way. Like individuals, a vessel may be decorated for acts of war and rescue operations.

French Lines also keeps meeting tokens given to shipping company shareholders, medals given to employees for good and loyal service, as well trophies won during sporting competitions.

Promotional items

A century of creation awaits those who stop to contemplate the countless merchandise and advertising items produced by these shipping companies. A seemingly endless inventory of everyday items, from the indispensable to the superfluous, the commonplace to the refined, are retained by French Lines. Such items include snow globes, pins, ashtrays, inkwells, scarves, games, ribbons and stamps.

For those lucky enough to board, it was an opportunity to collect dozens of souvenirs of the crossing. The companies were aware of the needs of their passengers and created hundreds of related products that they gave or sold along the journey, allowing passengers to take home these small mementos of happy times at sea.

Technical objects, luggage and handling devices

Navigational instruments, ship bells, medical objects, as well as luggage trolleys, cabin trunks, bottle crates, etc., such is the diversity of the assorted, yet fascinating, collection from the world related to passenger journeys, like the transportation of goods. These objects show the development of the shipping community throughout the twentieth century and easily set the historical scene, allowing visitors to immerse themselves in the impressive history of the Merchant Navy.

Visual works

Some of the largest French vessels were decorated with a multitude of original artwork. An example of this is the Normandie liner (1935), which was adorned with modern paintings. Shipping offices and port agencies possessed portraits of ships and fine prints.

They enlisted the help of great painters such as Mathurin Méheut, Albert Sebille, Édouard Collin, Charles Martin-Sauvaigo, Maurice Paulin, Sandy-Hook and Marin-Marie to design posters and advertising material. A large number of paintings, gouaches, watercolors and prints that illustrate the entire history of twentieth century art are safely stored along our shelves and are regularly presented at exhibitions.

objets-et-œuvres-d-art-01

Exposition « Légendes des mers » (2013). © F. Beauclair

Contacts


Dorian Dallongeville
Directeur du patrimoine
E-mail : directeur.patrimoine@frenchlines.com
Téléphone : 02 35 24 83 70

Joris Sanson
Régisseur des collections
E-mail : regie@frenchlines.com
Téléphone : 02 35 24 83 70

Du mobilier aux affiches, des objets liturgiques aux instruments techniques, en passant par les maquettes, les arts graphiques et les arts de la table, French Lines conserve un patrimoine exceptionnel, à la fois par sa variété et par le témoignage unique qu’il apporte sur l’évolution de la Marine marchande française depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle. Au sein d’une collection évaluée à plus de 30 000 pièces, une centaine d’œuvres sont classées au titre des Monuments historiques.

L’enrichissement permanent des collections, au même titre que leur conservation, leur restauration et leur valorisation, fait partie intégrante des préoccupations quotidiennes de French Lines. Il se poursuit régulièrement grâce aux dons d’œuvres et d’objets, ainsi que par des acquisitions.

Affiches

Dès la fin du XIXe siècle, les plus grands illustrateurs et affichistes ont mis en œuvre leur talent pour traduire la puissance des paquebots et évoquer le charme des voyages maritimes vers de lointaines destinations. La créativité de ces artistes fut largement encouragée par les commandes des compagnies maritimes, soucieuses d’attirer une clientèle toujours plus nombreuse.

L’affiche publicitaire, par l’immédiateté de sa capacité évocatrice, fut un de leur principal outil de communication et l’univers iconographique des affiches maritimes a pleinement participé à la légende des lignes françaises. Plus que tout autre, ce support de communication est une invitation au voyage. Une « réclame » qui est hissée, par le talent d’artistes de renom et de peintres de la Marine, au rang d’œuvre d’art.

French Lines conserve une exceptionnelle collection de plus de 600 affiches originales qui permettent aujourd’hui encore d’embarquer à la découverte du monde entier, de parcourir les continents et de remonter le temps en contemplant ces œuvres parfois signées Cassandre, Albert Sebille, Sandy-Hook ou encore Albert Brenet…

Arts de la table

French Lines détient une exceptionnelle collection dédiée aux arts de la table, évoquant un certain art de vivre à la française qui fait encore aujourd’hui la renommée des palaces et la fierté de notre hôtellerie.

Pendant plus d’un siècle, les paquebots français furent de hauts lieux de la décoration, des arts de la table et de la gastronomie. Symbole du savoir-faire national, de l’art de recevoir et de l’excellence du service, la restauration des passagers pouvait prendre place dans de luxueuses salles à manger, comme celle de Normandie, plus longue que la galerie des Glaces à Versailles !

Sur les paquebots, véritables palaces flottants, les compagnies ont eu le souci d’offrir un luxe sans cesse renouvelé. Cette préoccupation se lit dans les collections : orfèvrerie, verrerie, faïence et porcelaine, mais aussi près de 9 000 menus imprimés qui nous racontent, de traversées en croisières et des petits déjeuners aux dîners de gala, plus d’un siècle de gastronomie.

Orfèvrerie

Par milliers, les pièces d’argenterie créées par les grands noms de l’orfèvrerie comme Puiforcat, Christofle ou encore Ercuis ont garni les tables des paquebots français. Les styles des services évoluent en fonction des tendances artistiques du moment et de la décoration choisie pour chaque navire. Signe distinctif de chaque compagnie, le monogramme ou l’emblème qui orne chaque pièce fait l’objet d’une attention toute particulière : le soin constamment porté à l’élégance du graphisme participe du prestige de la compagnie et de ses paquebots.

Vaisselle

À bord des grands navires, ambassadeurs du service à la française, les arts de la table ont une importance toute particulière. Quoi de plus attrayant qu’une table somptueusement dressée et garnie des mets les plus savoureux de la gastronomie nationale ? Décorées des différents monogrammes, emblèmes ou logos des compagnies maritimes, les fines porcelaines et faïences, fragiles et donc souvent éphémères, issues des plus grandes manufactures françaises (Haviland et Gérard Dufraisseix & Abbot à Limoges, Digoin Sarreguemines…) côtoient une élégante verrerie réalisée par les maisons Daum, Lalique ou encore Saint-Louis.

Collection liturgique

French Lines abrite dans ses réserves une importante collection d’objets liturgiques, datés entre 1930 et 1970. Des valises-chapelle aux aubes ornées de dentelle, en passant par les chasubles aux décors chatoyants, la diversité des objets de la collection évoque bien la place importante qu’occupait la vie religieuse à bord des paquebots. Si les collections témoignent de la célébration régulière des offices catholiques à bord des paquebots, quelques objets permettent également d’illustrer le culte juif, à l’exemple d’un incroyable oratoire portatif conçu après la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour le paquebot Île-de-France de la Compagnie Générale Transatlantique.

Collection textile

Garçon de salle à manger, mousse de sonnerie, nurse, officier-mécanicien, bagagiste, matelot… ont un jour endossé ces vêtements de travail. Chaque fonction se distingue par une tenue. Parements et galons distinguent les grades, mais tous ont la même fierté à servir ces compagnies qui portent le pavillon national sur toutes les mers du globe. Les éléments vestimentaires conservés au Havre sont autant de témoignages émouvants de la vie des marins à bord.

French Lines possède également un grand nombre d’éléments textiles : foulards et cravates, pavillons nationaux et grand pavois, tapis… La collection exceptionnelle de tapisseries, issue de la décoration du paquebot France (1962), compte des signatures célèbres telles celles de Jean Picart Le Doux, de Lucien Coutaud ou de Robert Wogensky.

Éléments mobiliers

Plusieurs centaines de pièces de mobilier sont conservées par French Lines, depuis les fauteuils de salle à manger pivotants sur un pied en fonte des paquebots de la fin du XIXe / début du XXe siècle, jusqu’aux meubles avant-gardistes du paquebot France (1962) ou aux célèbres transats rouges de la Compagnie Générale Transatlantique. Guéridons, sièges, bureaux, lits, armoires et bibliothèques sortent parfois des réserves pour prendre place au sein de reconstitutions, rendues possibles par les innombrables documents iconographiques conservés dans nos archives.

Décors du paquebot France (1912)

Véritable trésor représentant les arts décoratifs du début du XXe siècle, un ensemble unique de boiseries et de ferronneries provenant du paquebot France de 1912 est soigneusement entreposé dans les réserves du Havre. Ces pièces exceptionnelles témoignent du raffinement et du prestige de ce navire, surnommé le « Versailles des mers ».

Maquettes

Une maquette revêt toujours une signification particulière pour ceux qui ont sillonné les océans ou qui ont accompagné la vie des navires, de leur construction jusqu’à leur disparition. C’est aussi un formidable objet permettant à tous, petits et grands, passionnés et curieux, de s’attarder sur ces légendes flottantes en les contemplant sous tous les angles, tout en rêvant à de longs voyages sur les mers du globe à bord de ces géants des mers.

Cargos, paquebots, navires spécialisés, qu’ils aient été à voiles seulement, à aubes ensuite, dévoreurs de charbon puis de mazout, ils représentent chacun une page importante de l’évolution des techniques et de l’histoire industrielle du pays.

French Lines conserve au Havre la plus importante collection de maquettes de la Marine marchande de 1850 à 1996, dont la maquette originale de Normandie présentée à l’Exposition Internationale des Arts et Techniques de 1937, ou encore une série d’une centaine de petites maquettes reconstituant la flotte de la Transat et commandée à Maurice Basile pour célébrer le centenaire de la compagnie. De quelques centimètres à plus de 5 mètres pour l’exceptionnelle maquette du paquebot Mariette Pacha des Messageries Maritimes, les maquettes sont une invitation à découvrir l’histoire des navires appartenant aux plus grandes compagnies françaises.

Médailles et objets commémoratifs

Il est de tradition, au sein de la Marine marchande, de célébrer un événement important par la frappe d’une médaille. On fête le lancement d’un navire en remettant une médaille aux invités de marque, en souvenir de ce jour mémorable. On honore la mémoire d’un Président de la même façon. Au même titre que les hommes, un navire peut recevoir une décoration pour faits de guerre et opérations de sauvetage.

French Lines conserve également des jetons d’assemblée remis aux actionnaires des compagnies maritimes, des médailles remises aux salariés pour bons et loyaux services, ainsi que des coupes et trophées remportés à l’occasion de compétitions sportives.

Objets publicitaires

Pour qui s’attarde à contempler les innombrables objets dérivés et publicitaires produits par les compagnies maritimes, c’est un siècle de création qui défile. À partir des objets du quotidien indispensables ou superflus, communs ou raffinés, un véritable inventaire à la Prévert peut décliner la variété des objets conservés par French Lines : boules à neige, broches, cendriers, encriers, foulards, éventails, jeux de société, rubans, timbres…

Pour ceux qui ont la chance de monter à bord, c’est l’occasion de collecter des dizaines de souvenirs de la traversée. Les compagnies connaissent ce besoin de leurs passagers et fabriquent des centaines de produits dérivés qu’elles leur offrent ou leur vendent au fil du voyage, leur permettant ainsi de ramener à la maison ces petits témoignages des bons moments passés en mer.

Objets techniques, bagagerie et éléments de manutention

Instruments de navigation, cloches de navires, objets médicaux, mais également chariots à bagages, « malles cabines » ou encore casiers à bouteilles… Telle est la diversité d’une collection aussi hétéroclite qu’évocatrice de tout un monde lié aux voyages des passagers comme aux mouvements des marchandises ! Témoignages de l’évolution du monde maritime au cours du XXe siècle, ces objets se prêtent aisément à des reconstitutions et invitent le visiteur à plonger dans la formidable histoire de la Marine marchande.

Œuvres picturales

Certains des plus grands navires français étaient décorés d’une multitude d’œuvres d’art originales, à l’exemple du paquebot Normandie (1935), orné de peintures modernes. Les directions des compagnies maritimes et les agences portuaires possédaient des portraits de navires et de fines gravures.

Pour réaliser les projets d’affiches et les supports publicitaires, il était fait appel à de grands peintres et dessinateurs comme Mathurin Méheut, Albert Sébille, Édouard Collin, Charles Martin-Sauvaigo, Maurice Paulin, Sandy-Hook ou encore Marin-Marie… De très nombreuses peintures, gouaches, aquarelles ou gravures, illustrant tout un pan de l’histoire de l’art du XXe siècle, sont précieusement rangées sur nos rayonnages et régulièrement présentées au sein des expositions.